CONTINUING RESOLUTION

CR12.15.A04. STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSONS AND TERM LIMITS

WHEREAS, standing committees of the Congregation Council (B12.15.02.) are appointed (C12.15.) by and work on behalf of the Congregation Council; and

WHEREAS, the Congregation Council desires to establish limitations on the number of standing committees a person may chair (B12.15.01.); and

WHEREAS, the Congregation Council desires to establish term limits for chairpersons of the standing committees (B12.15.02.);

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Congregation Council of Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church, Latrobe, PA (hereafter church) shall not appoint (B12.15.01.) any individual voting member (*C8.02.c.) as chairperson on more than one standing committee of the Congregation Council (B12.15.02.) at any given time. This limitation does not apply to Committees of the Congregation (C13.), subcommittees to standing committees of the Congregation Council (B12.15.03.b.), or special and ad hoc committees (B12.15.03.c.); i.e., standing committee chairpersons may concurrently serve as a chairperson of Committees of the Congregation, subcommittees to standing committees of the Congregation Council, and special or ad hoc committees. However, to promote a climate of independence, no member of the Audit (C13.03.) and Mutual Ministry (C13.04.) Committees of the Congregation shall be appointed as a chairperson to any standing committee of the Congregation Council.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Congregation Council shall not appoint a chairperson (B12.15.01.) to any standing committee of the Congregation Council that has served as a specific standing committee's chairperson for three (3) consecutive one-year terms. Chairpersons shall be eligible to serve no more than three (3) consecutive full terms/years plus the remaining term/year of a previously vacated position to which they were initially appointed as a successor chairperson to a specific standing committee, unless one year has elapsed before re-appointment. Voting members (*C8.02.c.) are eligible for appointment as chairperson to a different standing committee of the Congregation Council immediately upon concluding a term as chairperson of another standing committee.